Link Summon Rulings from OCG Card Database

With the official release of the Starter Deck 2017, the OCG official card database has been updated with detailed rulings for Link Summons and Link Monsters! With the new rules kicking into effect in the OCG as of today, make sure you check all the rulings before you start using your Link Monsters!

 

Decode Talker

Decode Talker
Link / Effect Monster
Link-3 / DARK / Cyverse
ATK 2300

2 or more Effect monsters
(1): This card gains 500 ATK for each monster linked to it.
(2): During either player’s turn, when your opponent activates a card or effect that targets a card(s) you control: You can Tribute 1 monster linked to this card; negate the activation, and if you do, destroy that card.

Q. When using a LINK-3 “Decode Talker” as a Link Material, can it be used as 2 Link Materials?
A. No. When using monsters as a Link Material, they will basically count as 1 Link Material for each monster. Also in the scenario of using a Link Monster as a Link Material, it can also be a Link Material as the value of it’s LINK. When using a LINK-3 “Decode Talker” as a Link Material, you can choose to have it either count as 1 Link Material, or as 3 Link Materials.

Q. Can you use 2 “Honeybot” as Link Material to Link summon a “Decode Talker”?
A. “Decode Talker” is a LINK-3 monster which requires 2 or more Effect Monsters for it’s Link Materials. You may count 1 of the “Honeybot” as 2 Link Materials and the other “Honeybot” as 1 Link Material to fulfil the conditions using 2 or more Effect Monsters as 3 Link Materials, and send them to the Graveyard to Link Summon “Decode Talker”

Q. If you have a “Decode Talker” in your Main Monster Zone and your opponent has a “Decode Talker” in the same column of their Main Monster Zone. In this scenario, are both “Decode Talker” considered as linked?
A. In the above scenario, even if the Link Monsters have their Link Markers pointing to each other in the same column, the monsters are not considered to be in a state of linked.

Q. My “Relinquished” has used it’s effect of [You can target 1 monster your opponent controls; equip that target to this card.] to equip an opponent’s “Decode Talker” as an equipment card. In this scenario, will I be able to special summon monsters from the Extra Deck to the Main Monster Zone that is pointed to by the “Decode Talker” in my Spell & Trap Zone?
A. In the above scenario, even if “Relinquished” monster effect has placed a Link Monster as an Equipment Card, the Main Monster Zone pointed at by the Link Marker cannot be used to special summon monsters from the Extra Deck.

Q. Can Monster Tokens be used as Link Materials for a Link Summon?
A. If the conditions to be a Link Material stated on the Link Monster are met, Monster Tokens can be used as Link Materials. For example in the case of “Decode Talker”, it’s Link Materials require you to use [2 or more Effect Monsters], hence you are unable to use Monster Tokens as Link Materials. However in the case of “Link Spider”, as it’s Link Materials requires you to use [1 Normal Monster], Monster Tokens can be used as Link Materials.

Q. To Link Summon “Decode Talker”, can 4 or more monsters be used as Link Materials and sent to the Graveyard?
A. When Link Summoning a “Decode Talker”, 3 Link Materials are required. You may not use more Link Materials then required to send additional monsters to the Graveyard. For example, you cannot send 4 Effect Monsters to the Graveyard to Link Summon a “Decode Talker”.

Q. If my opponent’s “Scrap Dragon” uses it’s effect to [Once per turn: You can target 1 card you control and 1 card your opponent controls; destroy them.], can I chain “Decode Talker” monster effect to [During either player’s turn, when your opponent activates a card or effect that targets a card(s) you control: You can Tribute 1 monster linked to this card; negate the activation, and if you do, destroy that card.]?
A. In the above scenario, when the opponent’s “Scrap Dragon” uses it’s monster effect to [target 1 card you control and 1 card your opponent controls; destroy them.], as it fulfils the condition for [your opponent activates a card or effect that targets a card(s) you control], if your “Decode Talker” has a monster you control linked to it, you can activate “Decode Talker” effect to [negate the activation, and if you do, destroy that card.].

Q. In the scenario that there is a “Decode Talker” in my Extra Monster Zone, with a “Bittron” face-up on my Main Monster Zone linked to it. If my opponent activates a “Compulsory Evacuation Device” targeting “Bittron”, can I tribute the targeted “Bittron” to activate “Decode Talker” effect of [During either player’s turn, when your opponent activates a card or effect that targets a card(s) you control: You can Tribute 1 monster linked to this card; negate the activation, and if you do, destroy that card.]?
A. In the above scenario, as the conditions that [your opponent activates a card or effect that targets a card(s) you control] is met by “Compulsory Evacuation Device”, you can chain “Decode Talker” effect. As a result, the targeted “Bittron” will be tributed to activate “Decode Talker” effect to negate and destroy “Compulsory Evacuation Device”.

Q. While there is a face-up “Decode Talker” in my Extra Monster Zone with it’s Link Markers pointing to my opponent’s face-up “Paleozoic Anomalocaris” in the Main Monster Zone. As the opponent’s “Paleozoic Anomalocaris” has the effect to [This card is unaffected by other monsters’ effects.], will my “Decode Talker” still increase it’s ATK with it’s effect [This card gains 500 ATK for each monster linked to it.]?
A. “Decode Talker” effect to increase it’s own ATK is not an effect granted by the monster linked to it. In the above scenario, even if “Paleozoic Anomalocaris” has the effect to not be affected by other monsters’ effects, the linked “Decode Talker” will still have it’s ATK increased normally.

Q. If the Link Markers from “Decode Talker” is pointing to a face-down monster, does it still gain ATK from it’s effect to [This card gains 500 ATK for each monster linked to it.]?
A. Even if the monster in the Monster Zone that “Decode Talker” Link Markers are pointing to is face-down, it’s effect to [This card gains 500 ATK for each monster linked to it.] will still increase it’s ATK.

 

Honeybot

Honeybot
Link / Effect Monster
Link-2 / LIGHT / Cyverse
ATK 1900

2 Cyverse-Type monsters
(1): Neither player can target monsters linked to this card with card effects, also those monsters cannot be destroyed by battle.

Q. If I have a Link Summoned “Honeybot” in my Extra Monster Zone, are it’s Left and Right Link Markers considered as pointing to the other Extra Monster Zone?
A. Neither of the 2 Extra Monster Zones are considered as next to each other. As a result, even if you have a Link Monster such as “Honeybot” with Left and Right Link Markers in the Extra Monster Zone, you may not summon a monster to the other Extra Monster Zone.

Q. There is a “Honeybot” that was Link Summoned and destroyed in the Graveyard. If “Honeybot” is special summoned to my Main Monster Zone as a result of “Monster Reborn”, can I use it’s Left and Right Link Markers to special summon a monster from the Extra Deck to the Zones next to it?
A. In the above scenario, you can use the Link Markers of “Honeybot” to special summon monsters from the Extra Deck to those Zones.

Q. There is a “Honeybot” in my Extra Monster Zone and another “Honeybot” in my Main Monster Zone. If I activate “Polymerization” and my opponent chains “Raigeki Break” and destroys the “Honeybot” in my Main Monster Zone, with no more Monster Zones that can be used to special summon a monster from the Extra Deck, how is “Polymerization” resolved?
A. In the above scenario, when trying to resolve “Polymerization”, as there are no Link Monsters on your Main Monster Zones and no suitable Zones to special summon your monster from the Extra Deck, “Polymerization” will not be able to apply it’s effect and cannot resolve.

Q. My opponent has activated “Ring of Destruction”, targeting a face-up “Beast King Barbaros” in my Monster Zone. If I chain “Call of the Haunted” to special summon a “Honeybot” to the Main Monster Zone adjacent to “Beast King Barbaros”, how are the effects resolved?
A. In the above scenario, as “Honeybot” is special summoned, even with “Honeybot” monster effect of [Neither player can target monsters linked to this card with card effects, also those monsters cannot be destroyed by battle.] effect applying to “Beast King Barbaros”, “Ring of Destruction” has already been activated, targeting “Beast King Barbaros”, “Ring of Destruction” effect will still be applied normally, destroying “Beast King Barbaros”.

 

Link Spider

Link Spider
Link / Effect Monster
Link-1 / EARTH / Cyverse
ATK 1000

1 Normal monster
(1): Once per turn: You can Special Summon 1 Level 4 or lower Normal Monster from your hand linked to this card.

Q. Can my “Relinquished” effect to [You can target 1 monster your opponent controls; equip that target to this card.] target my opponent’s “Link Spider” and equip it?
A. Yes. After that, with “Relinquished” effect of [This card’s ATK and DEF become equal to that equipped monster’s.], “Relinquished” ATK is increased by 1000 from “Link Spider”. However as “Link Spider” does not have any DEF, “Relinquished” DEF stays as 0.

Q. If there is a “Timegazer Magician” in my Pendulum Zone and a “Link Spider” in my Main Monster Zone in the same column, are they considered linked?
A. If a Link Marker from a Link Monster is pointing to a Monster Zone with a Monster in it, those monsters are considered as linked. If the Link Markers from a Link Monster is pointing to a Pendulum Zone, those monsters are not considered as linked.
(In the above scenario, “Timegazer Magician” and “Link Spider” are not linked.)

Q. If I have a “Link Spider” in the Extra Monster Zone and no monsters in my Main Monster Zones, can I summon “Link Slayer” with it’s effect of “If you control no monsters, you can Special Summon this card (from your hand)”?
A. If you have a monster in the Extra Monster Zone, that monster in that Extra Monster Zone counts as a monster on your field. In the above scenario, even if you have no monsters in your Main Monster Zones, as you have a monster in your Extra Monster Zone, you cannot use the effect of “Link Slayer” to special summon itself.

Q. If I activate “Link Spider” effect to [Once per turn: You can Special Summon 1 Level 4 or lower Normal Monster from your hand linked to this card.] and my opponent chains “Compulsory Evacuation Device” on it, with “Link Spider” no longer on my field, how does the effect resolve?
A. When resolving “Link Spider” monster effect, as “Link Spider is no longer on the field”, there is no Monster Zone that can be [linked to this card.], you cannot resolve the effect to special summon a Normal Monster.

 

General rulings applying to Link Monsters

Q. Can Pendulum Monsters be used as a Link Material to Link Summon?
A. If it fulfils the Link Material conditions on the Link Monster, Pendulum Monsters can be used as materials. As a result, the Pendulum Monster used as a Link Material is not sent to the Graveyard but added face-up to your Extra Deck instead.

Q. Can Link Monsters be used as Synchro Materials for a Synchro Summon or Xyz Materials for an Xyz summon?
A. Link Monsters are monsters do not have any levels or rank. As a result, they cannot be used as Synchro Materials or Xyz Materials. However if using the effects of cards such as “Number 101: Silent Honor ARK”, Link Monsters on the field can become Xyz Materials.

Q. Can face-down Defense Position monsters be used as Link Materials for a Link Summon?
A. Monsters being used as Link Materials for a Link Summon must be face-up monsters in your Monster Zones. Therefore, face-down Defense Position monsters in your Monster Zones cannot be used as Link materials for a Link Summon.

Q. When Link Summoning, are the Link Materials that are sent to the Graveyard considered as tributed?
A. When Link Summoning, the face-up monsters in your Monster Zones are sent to the Graveyard, and the monsters used as Link Materials that were sent to the Graveyard are not considered as tributed.

Q. Can Link Monsters be special summoned to the Main Monster Zone?
A. As Link Monsters are monsters that are special summoned from the Extra Deck, they are generally special summoned to the Extra Monster Zone.
However, if there is a Link Monster in your Extra Monster Zone with Link Markers pointing to your Main Monster Zones, those Main Monster Zones can also be used to special summon monsters from the Extra Deck, allowing you to special summon a Link Monster to the Main Monster Zone.
Also if a monster that has been special summoned from the Extra Deck to the Extra Monster Zone was sent to the Graveyard, effects such as “Monster Reborn” can be used to special summon the Link Monsters to the Main Monster Zone.

Q. I have a “Link Spider” in my Extra Monster Zone that has it’s Link Markers pointing to a “Thousand Dragon” in the Main Monster Zone which was fusion summoned. If the “Link Spider” in my Extra Monster Zone is destroyed by “Raigeki Break”, is the “Thousand Dragon” in my Main Monster Zone destroyed at the same time?
A. If you have a Link Monster, you can special summon monsters from the Extra Deck to the Main Monster Zones pointed to it by it’s Link Markers. After that, if that Link Monster is no longer on the field due to being destroyed or other methods, that Main Monster Zone returns to being a Zone that cannot be used to special summon monsters from the Extra Deck.
At the same time, the monsters that were special summoned from the Extra Deck and are in the Main Monster Zones are not destroyed.
(In the above scenario, “Thousand Dragon” will remain in the Monster Zone as it is)

Q. Can I target an Xyz Monster in my Main Monster Zone to activate “Rank-Up-Magic Barian’s Force” or other similar cards?
A. As the effects of “Rank-Up-Magic Barian’s Force” special summons a monster from the Extra Deck, if you have no monsters in the Extra Monster Zone or there is a Link Monster with Link Markers pointing to an empty Main Monster Zone, you can target “Rank-Up-Magic Barian’s Force” targeting an Xyz monster in your Main Monster Zone.
(After activation, the targeted Xyz Monster is moved to the Extra Monster Zone or the Main Monster Zone that is pointed to by a Link Marker, then the Xyz Monster from the Extra Deck is special summoned above it)

Q. When using the effects of “Rank-Up-Magic Barian’s Force” to target a monster in a Extra Monster Zone to Xyz Summon a new monster, if the other Extra Monster Zone is empty, can I choose to place the monster that is Xyz Summoned to the other Extra Monster Zone? Also, when performing Fusion Summon, Synchro Summon or Link Summon, if a monster from the Extra Monster Zone is used as the material and sent to the Graveyard, can I choose which Extra Monster Zone to place the monster that is summoned?
A. In any of the above situations, when special summoning a new monster from the Extra Deck, if the other Extra Monster Zone is empty, you can choose to special summon to the other Extra Monster Zone.

Q. My opponent has a face-up “Macro Cosmos” on their Spell & Trap Zones with it’s effect of [While this card is face-up on the field, any card sent to the Graveyard is banished instead.] being applied. In this scenario, is it possible to Link Summon?
A. In the above scenario, it is possible to Link Summon. With “Macro Cosmos” effect being applied, the monsters that are used as Link Materials are not sent to the Graveyard but are banished instead, and the Link Monster is special summoned as normal.

Q. When the opponent Link Summons, can I activate “Black Horn of Heaven” effect to [When your opponent would Special Summon exactly 1 monster: Negate the Special Summon, and if you do, destroy it.]?
A. When the opponent Link Summons, you can activate “Black Horn of Heaven” to negate the Link Summon.
(Link Summoning does not use the Chain Block)

Q. While “Skill Drain” effect of [The effects of all face-up monsters on the field are negated while those monsters are face-up on the field (but their effects can still be activated).] is applied, if your Link Monsters have their monster effects negated, what happens to their Link Markers?
A. Even if the Link Monsters have their monster effects negated by “Skill Drain”, the Link Markers will not be negated.
Therefore, if a Link Marker from a Link Monster is pointing to a monster in a Monster Zone, those monsters are still considered as linked. If the Link Marker is pointing to an empty Monster Zone, a monster can be special summoned from the Extra Deck to that Zone.

Q. Can Link Monsters be targeted by “Enemy Controller” effect to [Target 1 face-up monster your opponent controls; change that target’s battle position.]?
A. As Link Monsters cannot be in Defense Position, “Enemy Controller” cannot target Link Monsters for it’s effect to change a target’s battle position.

Q. Can Link Monsters be targeted by “Book of Moon” effect to [Target 1 face-up monster on the field; change that target to face-down Defense Position.]?
A. As Link Monsters cannot be placed in face-down Defense Position, “Book of Moon” which places monsters in face-down Defense Position cannot be used to target Link Monsters.

Q. If a monster that is special summoned from the Extra Deck such as Link Monsters or Fusion Monsters were banished by “Farfa, Malebranche of the Burning Abyss” effect to [If this card is sent to the Graveyard: You can target 1 monster on the field; banish it until the End Phase.], when it returns to the field, which Zone does it return to?
A. When a monster from the Extra Monster Zone is banished from the effects of cards such as “Farfa, Malebranche of the Burning Abyss”, when it returns to the field, it does not return to the Extra Monster Zone, but is placed in the Main Monster Zone instead.
(If there are no empty Main Monster Zones when it is returning to the field, it is sent to the Graveyard instead.)

Q. Can you have Fusion, Synchro, Xyz or Link Monsters in your Side Deck during a match?
A. You can have Fusion, Synchro, Xyz or Link Monsters in your Side Deck. During the Duel when you switch in a Fusion, Synchro, Xyz or Link Monster, you will need to switch out a card from your Extra Deck, not from your Deck.

 

Specific card rulings applying to Link Monsters

Q. If “Shield & Sword” effect of [Switch the original ATK and DEF of all face-up monsters currently on the field, until the End Phase.] is applied, what happens to the Link Monsters in face-up Attack Position in your Monster Zones?
A. As Link Monsters have no DEF, the effect to switch their ATK and DEF cannot be applied. As a result, the effect of “Shield & Sword” do not apply to Link Monsters.
(If the only face-up monsters on the field are Link Monsters, you will not be able to activate “Shield & Sword” as it cannot resolve it’s effects)

Q. Can Link Monsters be targeted for “Massivemorph” effects of [Target 1 face-up monster your opponent controls; its ATK and DEF become double its current ATK and DEF, but it cannot attack directly.]?
A. Link Monsters can be targeted by “Massivemorph”. As a result, it’s ATK will be doubled and as Link Monsters have no DEF, it’s effect to double the DEF is not applied. Also, that Link Monster cannot attack directly.

Q. Can “Space-Time Police” effect to [When this card is Special Summoned: Target 1 face-up card your opponent controls; banish that target.] be used to banish Link Monsters?
A. “Space-Time Police” monster effect can be used to banish Link Monsters. After that, when “Space-Time Police” effect of [When this card leaves the field: Set the card that was banished by this effect to your opponent’s side of the field.] is applied, when resolving the effect, as Link Monsters cannot be set in face-down Defense Position, the Link Monster does not return to the field and stays banished.

Q. Can cards like “Horn of Light” or “Rod of Silence – Kay’est” be equipped on Link Monsters?
A. Link Monsters can be equipped with “Horn of Light” or “Rod of Silence – Kay’est”. However as Link Monsters have no DEF, the effects to increase the equipped monster’s DEF does not apply.
(In the case of “Rod of Silence – Kay’est”, it’s effect of [Negate other Spell effects that target the equipped monster, and if you do, destroy that Spell Card.] is still applied normally).

Q. Can Link Monsters be equipped with “Synchro Boost”?
A. Link Monsters can be equipped with “Synchro Boost”. However as Link Monsters have no level, the effects to increase the equipped monster’s level does not apply. Only the effect to increase it’s ATK by 500 is applied.

Q. Can Link Monsters be targeted by “Rise to Full Height” 1st effect of [Target 1 face-up monster on the field; double its DEF, but its DEF becomes 0 at the end of this turn.]? Also can Link Monsters be targeted by “Rose to Full Height” 2nd effect of [You can banish this card from your Graveyard, then target 1 monster you control; monsters your opponent controls cannot attack for the rest of this turn, except to attack that monster.]
A. Link Monsters cannot be selected for the 1st effect of “Rise to Full Height”. However Link Monsters can be selected for the 2nd effect of “Rise to Full Height”

Q. Do the effects of “Sorcerous Spell Wall” of [All monsters you control gain 300 ATK during your turn only. All monsters you control gain 300 DEF during your opponent’s turn only.] apply to Link Monsters?
A. During your turn, Link Monsters have their ATK increased by 300 due to the effects of “Sorcerous Spell Wall”. As Link Monsters do not have any DEF, “Sorcerous Spell Wall” effect to increase DEF is not applied.

Q. If my opponent’s Zones only have a face-up Link Monster, can I activate “Smashing Ground”? Also if my opponent has Link Monsters and Monsters that are not Link Monsters face-up on the field, can I activate “Smashing Ground”?
A. If the only face-up monster in the opponent’s Monster Zones are Link Monsters, as there is no monster with the higher DEF, “Smashing Ground” cannot be activated.
If there are Link Monsters and Monsters that are not Link Monsters face-up on the field, the monster among the monsters with DEF that has the highest DEF is destroyed.
(Also, when resolving the effects of “Smashing Ground”, if only the Link Monster is face-up on the field, as it has no DEF, it will not be destroyed by the effects of “Smashing Ground”.)

Q. If my “Goyo Guardian” battles and destroys an opponent’s monster in the Extra Monster Zone, can I activate it’s effect to [When this card destroys an opponent’s monster by battle and sends it to the Graveyard: You can Special Summon that monster to your side of the field in Defense Position.]?
A. If “Goyo Guardian” destroys a Fusion, Synchro or Xyz monster in the Extra monster Zone by battle, when it is sent to the Graveyard, “Goyo Guardian” can activate it’s effect and special summon it in Defense Position.
If “Goyo Guardian” destroys a Link Monster by battle, when it is sent to the Graveyard, “Goyo Guardian” cannot activate it’s effect.

Q. When activating “Advanced Heraldry Art”, must I have an empty Extra Monster Zone?
A. If “Advanced Heraldry Art” effect to [Target 2 “Heraldic Beast” monsters in your Graveyard; Special Summon both those targets. Immediately after this card resolves, Xyz Summon 1 Xyz Monster using those 2 monsters only.] cannot be resolved, it cannot be activated.
If you have no monsters in the Extra Monster Zone, or you have an empty Main Monster Zone with a Link Marker from a Link Monster pointing to it, as you can special summon a monster from the Extra Deck, you can activate “Advanced Heraldry Art”.
If an effect is chained to “Advanced Heraldry Art” and you no longer have a Zone that you can use to special summon a monster from the Extra Deck, the targeted “Heraldic Beast” monsters will be special summoned and “Advanced Heraldry Art” will stop resolving.
(However, even if the 2 “Heraldic Beast” monsters are special summoned to the Main Monster Zones pointed at by the Link Markers, those “Heraldic Beast” monsters will still be used as Xyz Materials to Xyz summon as per normal.

Q. Can Link Monsters be targeted by “The Reliable Guardian” effect to [Increase 1 face-up monster’s DEF by 700 points until the end of this turn.]?
Also, can Link Monsters be targeted by “Blustering Winds” effect to [Target 1 face-up monster you control; it gains 1000 ATK and DEF until your next Standby Phase.]?
A. Link Monsters cannot be targeted by “The Reliable Guardian”. However, Link Monsters can be targeted by “Blustering Winds”.
(In this scenario, only it’s ATK is increased by 1000.)

Q. While a Link Monster is on the field, can “Curse of Anubis” effect to [Change all Effect Monsters on the field to Defense Position. Until the end of this turn, the original DEF of those monsters becomes 0, also their battle positions cannot be changed.] be activated?
A. If there are other face-up effect monsters that are not Link Monsters on the field, “Curse of Anubis” can be applied. In that scenario, the effect does not apply to the Link Monster, while the other effect monsters are changed to face-up Defense Position, with their original DEF changed to 0 and they cannot change their battle positions.
However, if the only face-up effect monsters on the field are Link Monsters, “Curse of Anubis” cannot be activated.

Q. Can the monster special summoned by “Ultimaya Tzolkin” effect of [ Once per turn, when a Spell/Trap Card(s) is Set on your side of the field (except during the Damage Step): You can Special Summon 1 “Power Tool” Synchro Monster or 1 Level 7 or 8 Dragon-Type Synchro Monster from your Extra Deck.] be special summoned to the Main Monster Zone?
A. As “Ultimaya Tzolkin” effect to special summon a Synchro Monster is special summoned from the Extra Deck, it can generally be only special summoned to an Extra Monster Zone.
However, if there is a Link Monster with a Link Marker in your Monster Zone pointing to a Main Monster Zone, you can use that Main Monster Zone to special summon a monster from Extra Deck. In that scenario, “Ultimaya Tzolkin” monster effect can be used to special summon a Synchro monster to that Main Monster Zone.

Q. The opponent has 4 monsters in the Main Monster Zone and a Link Monster in the Extra Monster Zone. In this scenario, as the opponent’s field has 5 monsters, can I activate “Flash of the Forbidden Spell”?
A. In the above scenario, you cannot activate “Flash of the Forbidden Spell”.
In the above scenario, if the opponent’s Main Monster Zones have 5 monsters and they have a monster in the Extra Monster Zone, then you may activate “Flash of the Forbidden Spell”.
(As a result, the effect of “Flash of the Forbidden Spell” will destroy all of the opponent’s monsters in the Main Monster Zone and Extra Monster Zone.)

Q. If the opponent has a Link Monster, can you activate “Crystron Impact” effect to [Target 1 of your banished “Crystron” monsters; Special Summon it, and if you do, if your opponent controls any face-up monsters, change their DEF to 0.]?
A. Even if the opponent has Link Monsters in the Monster Zone, “Crystron Impact” can be activated.
In that scenario, the targeted monster is special summoned but the effect to change the monsters DEF to 0 is not applied to the Link Monsters.
However if your opponent has monsters that are not Link Monsters in the Monster Zone, then the monsters that are not Link Monsters have their DEF changed to 0.

Q. Can “Flower Cardian Willow with Calligrapher” effect to [When this card is used as Synchro Material, you can treat it and all other Synchro Materials (that have a Level) as Level 2 monsters.] be used to treat Xyz or Link Monsters as Level 2 to be used as a Synchro Material?
A. As Xyz Monsters and Link Monsters do not have Levels, they cannot be used as Synchro Materials. “Flower Cardian Willow with Calligrapher” effect will not apply on Xyz or Link Monsters for them to be used as Synchro Materials.

Q. Can “Burst Rebirth” effect to [Pay 2000 Life Points, then target 1 monster in your Graveyard; Special Summon that target in face-down Defense Position.] target a Link Mosnter in my Graveyard?
A. As Link Monsters cannot be placed in Defense Position, “Burst Rebirth” which special summons in Defense Position cannot target a Link Monster.

Q. When “Lindbloom” with the effect to [If a monster you control battles an opponent’s monster, during damage calculation: The ATK of each monster in that battle becomes equal to their current DEF, until the end of the Damage Step.] battles a Link Monster, what happens during damage calculation?
A. When “Lindbloom” battles a Link Monster, during damage calculation, as Link Monsters do not have any DEF, “Lindbloom” monster effect activates but does not apply to the Link Monster. If your monsters battles an opponent’s monster that is not a Link monster, that monster may apply “Lindbloom” monster effect.

Q. When activating “Lullaby of Obedience”, can you name a Fusion, Synchro, Xyz or Link Monster for the Monster Card name?
A. “Lullaby of Obedience” has the effect for [your opponent looks at their Deck, reveals 1 of the declared monsters if there is any, and applies 1 of these effects.]. As the Deck cannot have any Fusion, Synchro, Xyz or Link Monsters, you cannot name those card names.

Q. If you use “Shuffle Reborn” effect to [You can banish this card from your Graveyard, then target 1 card you control; shuffle it into the Deck, then draw 1 card, also during the End Phase of this turn, banish 1 card from your hand. ] to target a Fusion, Synchro, Xyz or Link Monster, how does it resolve?
A. You can activate “Shuffle Reborn” and target a Fusion, Synchro, Xyz or Link Monster. In that scenario, the targeted monster returns to the Extra Deck, then you draw a card.
([also during the End Phase of this turn, banish 1 card from your hand.] will also be applied normally)

Q. “Can “Mirror Resonator” effect to [Once per turn: You can target 1 face-up monster your opponent controls; treat this card’s Level as that monster’s original Level if this card is used for a Synchro Summon this turn.] select an Xyz Monster or Link Monster?
A. “Mirror Resonator” effect to [treat this card’s Level as that monster’s original Level if this card is used for a Synchro Summon this turn.] cannot be used to target an Xyz Monster or Link Monster that has no levels.

Q: While my opponent has a monster in the Extra Monster Zone, can I special summon a “Gameciel, the Sea Turtle Kaiju” using it’s effect [You can Special Summon this card (from your hand) to your opponent’s field in Attack Position, by Tributing 1 monster they control.]?
A. The effect of “Gameciel, the Sea Turtle Kaiju” can special summoned by tributing a monster from the opponent’s Extra monster Zone.
However, as “Gameciel, the Sea Turtle Kaiju” will be special summoned to the opponent’s Main Monster Zone, if the opponent does not have an empty Main Monster Zone, you cannot tribute the opponent’s monster that is in the Extra Monster Zone to special summon “Gameciel, the Sea Turtle Kaiju”.
(In this scenario, you can tribute a monster from the opponent’s Main Monster Zone to special summon “Gameciel, the Sea Turtle Kaiju” to the opponent’s Main Monster Zone.


Source from OCG Card Database

24 thoughts on “Link Summon Rulings from OCG Card Database”

  1. Saruko says:

    So, can i accially block the extra slot with cards like ojama?

    1. DSummon says:

      Not exactly. Ojama tokens can only go to the Main Monster Zones. The only thing that can be summoned to the Extra Monster Zones are monsters that are summoned from the Extra Deck.

  2. Jason Lee says:

    can ojama king or something like it block the extra monster zone

  3. Bob says:

    I have used synchro decks ever since they came out. It’s gonna be a lot harder to use them now. Should I get a new deck?

    1. Matheo says:

      With Gofu u can make easy Links. So Synchro is still viable (until Gofu get hitted) and if your synchro Deck is fun u should not get a new deck.

  4. Taurean Kiel says:

    Say I have the link monster “Decode Talker” in the extra zone and its arrows are pointing to 2 extra deck monsters that I was able to summon because of the link monster in the normal monster zone, what would happen to them if the link monster gets destroyed?
    Are link monsters effected by destroy effects?
    Can they attack?

    1. Matheo says:

      The Extra-Deck Monsters in the Main-Monster-Zone happens nothing.
      Yes, they can be normally destroyed.
      Link Monster can Attack normally Attack with their ATK.

  5. Mikael says:

    Can I use equipped monsters (like from Union hanger) as material for a link summon?

  6. LooniestPigeon says:

    Decode Talker’s second effect states that you can tribute a monster that he is pointing at, does that include being able to tribute an opponents monster that is in front of my extra monster card zone that decode talker is in?

    1. John doe says:

      Yes.

  7. John doe says:

    Can u remove from play a link monster?

    1. DSummon says:

      Yup! It’s still a typical monster with the exception that it can’t be turned into defense position. Everything else is the same

  8. Erik says:

    Can my opponent use a Link Monster he controls that is linked to an extra deck monster I control as Link material for the Link Summon of another Link Monster. If so, what happens to the extra deck monster I control?

  9. cesar d aquino says:

    if i have a snychro or xyz etc .. on my extra monster zone and then i wanna summon a link monster can i move the card that was originally on my extra monster zone to a main monster zone ?

    1. DSummon says:

      Nope, you have to use a card effect such as Castle Link to move it

  10. cesar d aquino says:

    thank you

  11. cesar d aquino says:

    if you have one link monster on your extra monster zone can you start to summon as many xyz synchro etc to fill up the main monster zone or is it only as many as the link points too ?

    1. DSummon says:

      Only to the main monster zones where the link arrows point to~

  12. cesar d aquino says:

    you have omega on the extra monster zone you banish it it comes back but when it does it comes back to the main monster zone and you have no link monster in the extra monster zone what would happen ??
    and if it stays how come you dont need a link monster on the field for it to stay ? this is kinda related to the question before this one?

  13. cesar d aquino says:

    you have omega on the extra monster zone you banish it it comes back but when it does it comes back to the main monster zone and you have no link monster in the extra monster zone what would happen ??
    and if it stays how come you dont need a link monster on the field for it to stay ? this is kinda related to the question before this one?

    1. Lordoftheflies says:

      Since you have already summoned it correctly it doesn’t need to go into the extra deck zone. Basically it’s the same as call of the haunting a monster.

  14. Falhcus says:

    Can Decode Talker negate mirror force?

    1. Sergio Gomez says:

      no because mirror force does not say target

  15. Sergio Gomez says:

    can 1 link spider count as 2 cyberverse monsters for a link summon of honey bot

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: