[Card Rulings] Master Peace, the True Dracoslaying King’s immunity effect

Maximum Crisis was released in the OCG this year on 14th of January and in the TCG on 5th of May. Since the introduction of the New Master Rule in March 2017, the [True Draco] archetype has been making a bigger impact in the OCG Metagame.

For today’s topic, we will be going through the rulings for the immunity effect of [Master Peace, the True Dracoslaying King].

Master Peace, the True Dracoslaying King

To Tribute Summon this card face-up, you can Tribute Continuous Spell/Trap Card(s) you control, as well as monsters. Unaffected by the effects of cards with the same card type (Monster, Spell, and/or Trap) as the original card type of the cards Tributed for its Tribute Summon. Once per turn, during either player’s turn, if you control this Tribute Summoned monster: You can banish 1 Continuous Spell/Trap Card from your Graveyard, then target 1 other card on the field; destroy it.

Do note that these ruling questions and answers have been sent and replied by Konami’s Ruling Support Helpdesk. We will be providing the Japanese text as well as the English translations for these Q&A.


1) [Number S39: Utopia the Lightning] VS [Master Peace, the True Dracoslaying King] (23 May 2017)

Q: 自分の「SNo.39 希望皇ホープ・ザ・ライトニング」は相手のモンスターをリリースアドバンス召喚した「真竜剣皇マスターP」を攻撃します。自分の「SNo.39 希望皇ホープ・ザ・ライトニング」は「このカードが戦闘を行う場合、相手はダメージステップ終了時までカードの効果を発動できない。」の効果はあります。

この状況は、「真竜剣皇マスターP」②の「アドバンス召喚したこのカードが存在する場合、1ターンに1度、自分の墓地から永続魔法・永続罠カード1枚を除外し、このカード以外のフィールドのカード1枚を対象として発動できる。そのカードを破壊する。この効果は相手ターンでも発動できる。」は発動できますか?理由は何ですか?

Q: My [Number S39: Utopia the Lightning] declares an attack against a [Master Peace, the True Dracoslaying King] that was tribute summoned using a monster.

Since my [Number S39: Utopia the Lightning] has an effect of [If this card battles, your opponent cannot activate cards or effects until the end of the Damage Step.]; in this situation, is my [Master Peace, the True Dracoslaying King] be able to activate its 2nd effect of [Once per turn, during either player’s turn, if you control this tribute summoned monster: you can banish 1 continuous Spell/Trap card from your graveyard, then target 1 other card on the field; destroy it.]? What is the reason for it?

A: モンスターをリリースしてアドバンス召喚した「真竜剣皇マスターP」は、「SNo.39 希望皇ホープ・ザ・ライトニング」の『①:このカードが戦闘を行う場合、相手はダメージステップ終了時までカードの効果を発動できない』効果を受けません。
よって、「SNo.39 希望皇ホープ・ザ・ライトニング」と戦闘を行う場合でも、バトルステップ中であれば、「真竜剣皇マスターP」の『②』の効果を発動する事はできます。

A: If your [Master Peace, the True Dracoslaying King] was tribute summoned using a monster card as a tribute, it is unaffected by the effect [If this card battles, your opponent cannot activate cards or effects until the end of the Damage Step.] of [Number S39: Utopia the Lightning].

Thus, when [Master Peace, the True Dracoslaying King] is battling with [Number S39: Utopia the Lightning]; your  [Master Peace, the True Dracoslaying King] is able to activate its 2nd effect during the battle step.


2) [Super Polymerization] VS [Master Peace, the True Dracoslaying King] (23 May 2017)

Q: 自分は「超融合」を発動します。魔法カードをリリースアドバンス召喚した「真竜剣皇マスターP」は「超融合」対して②の「アドバンス召喚したこのカードが存在する場合、1ターンに1度、自分の墓地から永続魔法・永続罠カード1枚を除外し、このカード以外のフィールドのカード1枚を対象として発動できる。そのカードを破壊する。この効果は相手ターンでも発動できる。」は発動できますか?理由は何ですか?

Q: I activate [Super Polymerization]. Can a  [Master Peace, the True Dracoslaying King]  that was tribute summoned using a spell card, use its 2nd effect of [Once per turn, during either player’s turn, if you control this tribute summoned monster: you can banish 1 continuous Spell/Trap card from your graveyard, then target 1 other card on the field; destroy it.] to be chained to [Super Polymerization]? What is the reason for it?

A: 「超融合」の『このカードの発動に対して魔法・罠・モンスターの効果は発動できない』は効果の扱いではありません
よって、魔法カードの効果を受けない「真竜剣皇マスターP」であっても、「超融合」の発動にチェーンして『②』の効果を発動できません。

A: [Super Polymerization]’s [Cards and effects cannot be activated in response to this card’s activation.] is not treated as an effect. Thus, an unaffected by Spell effects [Master Peace, the True Dracoslaying King] will be unable to chain in response to [Super Polymerization]’s card activation.


3) [Lost World] VS [Master Peace, the True Dracoslaying King] (24 Mar 2017)

Q: 相手のフィールドゾーンに「ロストワールド」が表側表示で存在し、相手のモンスターゾーンに「究極伝導恐獣」が表側表示で存在しています。

また、自分のモンスターゾーンには、「ロストワールド」の『②:1ターンに1度、恐竜族モンスターが召喚・特殊召喚された場合に発動できる。相手フィールドに「ジュラエッグトークン」(恐竜族・地・星1・攻/守0)1体を守備表示で特殊召喚する』効果によって特殊召喚された「ジュラエッグトークン」と、『このカードを表側表示でアドバンス召喚する場合、モンスターの代わりに自分フィールドの永続魔法・永続罠カードをリリースできる』方法によってモンスター、永続魔法カードをそれぞれリリースしてアドバンス召喚されている自分の「真竜剣皇マスターP」が存在しています。

この状況で、自分が「真竜剣皇マスターP」の『②:アドバンス召喚したこのカードが存在する場合、1ターンに1度、自分の墓地から永続魔法・永続罠カード1枚を除外し、このカード以外のフィールドのカード1枚を対象として発動できる。そのカードを破壊する。この効果は相手ターンでも発動できる』モンスター効果を発動する場合、どのカードを対象にモンスター効果を発動する事ができますか?

Q: There is a [Lost World] face-up on my opponent’s Field Spell zone, and there is a [Ultimate Conductor Tyranno] also face-up on my opponent’s main monster zone. On my main monster zone, there is a [Jurassic Token] summoned by the effect of my opponent’s [Lost World]; as well as a [Master Peace, the True Dracoslaying King] that used a Spell card for its tribute summon.

In this situation, can I activate my [Master Peace, the True Dracoslaying King]’s effect to [Once per turn, during either player’s turn, if you control this tribute summoned monster: you can banish 1 continuous Spell/Trap card from your graveyard, then target 1 other card on the field; destroy it.] to destroy another monster on the field other than the [Jurassic Token]?

A: 質問の状況の場合、相手の「ロストワールド」の『③:相手フィールドにトークンがある限り、相手はトークン以外のフィールドのモンスターを効果の対象にできない』効果が適用されていますので、自分が「真竜剣皇マスターP」の『そのカードを破壊する』モンスター効果を発動する場合、相手の「究極伝導恐獣」を対象とする事はできませんが、自分フィールドの「ジュラエッグトークン」を対象とする事や、「ロストワールド」を破壊する対象として選択する事はできます。

A: With regards to this question, your opponent’s [Lost World]’s [While your opponent controls a Token, they cannot target monsters on the field with card effects, except Tokens.] effect is still in use.

You are not able to target the [Ultimate Conductor Tyranno] on your opponent’s field. You are only able to target either the [Jurassic Token] or the [Lost World] on the field to be destroyed by [Master Peace, the True Dracoslaying King]’s effect.


If you have any other questions that needs clarification, please feel free to contact us via our Contact Us tab. Do note that it takes about 3 to 4 working days for your question(s) to be processed with answer(s) by Konami’s Ruling Support Helpdesk.

6 thoughts on “[Card Rulings] Master Peace, the True Dracoslaying King’s immunity effect”

  1. Mario Dean Vicks Jr. says:

    Can u tribute face down continuous spell and or trap cards to summon master peace?

    1. T10 says:

      Yes you can.

  2. Marvin a pineda says:

    Q: is master peace tribute summon consider a special summon or a normal summon??

    1. Brett Smith says:

      Tribute summon is counted as a normal summon unless stated otherwise.

  3. Brett Smith says:

    Question: Master Peace says unaffected by card types used to tribute summon this card. For example, I used a continuous spell and trap to tribute summon so Master Peace is now unaffected by spells and trap. Does that mean my own spell cards such as equip cards like moon mirror shield and dimension guardian won’t work on master peace?

    To give more context: because the effect description doesn’t say “your opponent’s card eftects” does that mean you can’t use your own spell and traps on Master peace eother?

  4. Brett Smith says:

    Also, if I summoned Master Peace using a monster: making Master Peace unaffected by monster cards: wpuld it be unaffected by the effects of Tierra source of destruction thus staying on the field insread of getting shuffled back into the deck.

Leave a Reply