Master Rule (1 April 2020 Revision) Key Points

Have lots of questions about how the upcoming Master Rule revision in April 2020 changes the game? Here are some key points and your questions answered by Konami!

From 1 April 2020, the Master Rule will be revised!
Check out the new changes here, and experience a brand new duel!

Changes from before

Let’s check out the changes from the up to now “New Master Rule”!

Face-down Fusion, Synchro and Xyz Monsters in your Extra Deck
can be Special Summoned directly to your Main Monster Zone

When Special Summoning either a Fusion, Synchro or Xyz Monster from your Extra Deck, in addition to your Extra Monster Zone, you can now also Special Summon them to your Main Monster Zone.

You can now choose the Zone according to your strategy during the duel. (If you are Special Summoning these monsters from anywhere aside from the Extra Deck [e.g. your Graveyard], they have to be Special Summoned to the Main Monster Zone as before.)

Special Summoning Pendulum or Link Monsters from your Extra Deck
will remain as before

The rule for Special Summoning of Pendulum or Link Monsters will remain as before.

When Special Summoning from the Extra Deck, they can only be Special Summoned either to the Extra Monster Zone, or a Main Monster Zone that has the Link Marker of a Link Monster pointing to it.

If you are Special Summoning these monsters from anywhere aside from the Extra Deck [e.g. your Graveyard], they have to be Special Summoned to the Main Monster Zone as before.

 

Ruling Q&A

Q: When Special Summoning a Fusion, Synchro or Xyz Monster from the Extra Deck, must the first monster be placed in the Extra Monster Zone?

A: When Special Summoning a Fusion, Synchro or Xyz Monster from the Extra Deck, You do not have to Special Summon the first monster to the Extra Monster Zone.
(You are free to choose between using the Extra Monster Zone or your Main Monster Zone)


Q: When Special Summoning a Fusion, Synchro or Xyz Monster from the Extra Deck, can 1 player use both Extra Monster Zones?

A: The rules for each player only using 1 Extra Monster Zone is the same as before. (However in the situation of using mutually linked Link Monster to complete an Extra Link, 1 player will be able to use both Extra Monster Zones)


Q: If you have a monster aside from a Link Monster  in the Extra Monster Zone, can you Special Summon a new Fusion, Synchro or Xyz Monster from your Extra Deck?

A. Even if you are already using the Extra Monster Zone, you can Special Summon a new Fusion, Synchro or Xyz Monster from your Extra Deck to your Main Monster Zone.


Q: If the opponent is using both Extra Monster Zones via Extra Link, can you Special Summon a new Fusion, Synchro or Xyz Monster from the Extra Deck?

A: Even if the opponent is using both Extra Monster Zones via Extra Link, you can still Special Summon new Fusion, Synchro or Xyz Monsters from your Extra Deck to your Main Monster Zones.


Q: If you are Summoning a Fusion, Synchro or Xyz Monster from your Extra Deck aside from using Fusion, Synchro or Xyz Summoning, such as via the effect of Cyber-Stein or Starlight Road, which Zone do you place the Monster in?

A: If you are Special Summoning a Fusion, Synchro or Xyz Monster from your Extra Deck via a card effect, aside from Fusion, Synchro or Xyz Summoning, you can still select to place them in either the Extra Monster Zone or your Main Monster Zones.


Q: If you are Special Summoning a Fusion, Synchro, Xyz, Pendulum or Link Monster from your Extra Deck while ignoring the Summoning Condition, which Zone do you place them in?

A: Even if you are Special Summoning a Fusion, Synchro, Xyz, Pendulum or Link Monster from the Extra Deck while ignoring the Summoning Condition, the Zones that you can use will still have to follow the Monster Type.
For Fusion, Synchro or Xyz Monsters, you can choose either the Extra Monster Zone or your Main Monster Zones.
For Pendulum or Link Monsters, you have to choose either the Extra Monster Zone, or a Main Monster Zone that has the Link Marker of a Link Monster pointing to it.


Q: If you are Special Summoning a Fusion / Pendulum, Synchro / Pendulum or a Xyz / Pendulum Monster from the Extra Deck, which Zone should they be placed in?

A: When Special Summoning a Fusion / Pendulum, Synchro / Pendulum or a Xyz / Pendulum Monster from the Extra Deck (Such as Odd-Eyes Rebellion Dragon), the Zones are selected based on if the Monster is Face-Up or Face-Down. (So they are still treated as Fusion, Synchro or Xyz Monsters)
Face-Down Extra Deck Monsters can be Special Summoned to either the Extra Monster Zone or your Main Monster Zones.
Face-Up Extra Deck Monsters can only be Special Summoned to the Extra Monster Zone or a Main Monster Zone that has the Link Marker of a Link Monster pointing to it. (As they are treated as Pendulum Monsters, they will follow the rulings for Pendulum Monsters.


Source from Yu-Gi-Oh! OCG Official Website

Leave a Reply