Master Rule Updates – Special Summoning Extra Deck Monsters
Some rulings just got posted up on Twitter from people enquiring with Konami’s ruling helpdesk. We now know how Extra Deck Monsters summoned via effects will be handled!
Disclaimer: These rulings are posted by unofficial sources on Twitter by people who have enquired to Konami’s ruling helpdesk. As they are not posted officially via official sources, their accuracy cannot be determined.
(However these accounts have a record of posting legitimate rulings so these ruling updates should be credible)
Q. When using cards such as Mask Change, Ultimaya Tzolkin or Bahamut Shark to special summon Fusion, Synchro or Xyz monsters from the Extra Deck (Which do not legally summon them), can you special summon them to a Main Monster Zone? (In the situation that there are no Link Markers pointing to those Zones.)
A. In this scenario, you may not special summon the relative monsters to the Main Monster Zone.
Additional note: This would also apply to Starlight Road, Cyber-Stein and other similar cards.
Source from ドミノガーデン/裁定つぶやき
Q. If my Extra Monster Zone is empty and there are no Link Markers (pointing to Zones) on my field, and I have a Number 39: Utopia on my Main Monster Zone. If I were to overlay Number S39: Utopia the Lightning over it, must I summon it to my Extra Monster Zone?
A. In this scenario, your Number S39: Utopia the Lightning must be Xyz summoned to your Extra Monster Zone.
Additional note: When ranking up your Xyz monsters, they must go to an Extra Monster Zone / Linked Main Monster Zone regardless of which zone the original Xyz monster was on.
Source from 因幡うさぎ@ฅ• x •ฅ)